Popular Posts

Friday, June 22, 2007

Chakras and the Seven Sacred Cities

Chakras and the seven sacred cities
Original here
Sri Sri Ravishankar
The soul is called Purusha. Pura means a town. Purusha means one who lives in the town. The Purusha is unbound and infinite. But the Purusha experiences bondage with all the negative emotions.

Seven cities in India correspond to seven centres or chakras in our body: “Ayodhya, Mathura, Maya, Kashi, Kanchi, Avanthika, Puri drawaravati chaiva, saptaide moksha dayika." Maya or Haridwar corresponds to the mooladhar chakra situated at the base of the spine. When the jadata or lethargy goes and enthusiasm begins, you commence your journey. Haridwar, the starting point, is "the door to the house of the Divine".
Kanchi corresponds to the swadhisthana chakra situated behind the genitals, as the presiding deity here is Kamakshi, the goddess of kama or desire.

Ayodhya corresponds to the third chakra, the manipura, situated in the navel region, where joy, generosity, greed and jealousy manifest.

Mathura is anahata, the heart chakra. The heart is associated with three emotions: Love, fear and hatred. Mathura symbolises love and devotion of the gopis for Krishna, as well as of the fear and hatred of Kansa, all matters of the heart.

Avanthika, also called Ujjain, is related to the vishuddha or the throat chakra. It is also the city of Vikramaditya, of grief and glory. We feel gratitude in the throat region - we get choked.

Kashi represents the ajna chakra situated between the eyebrows. Kashi has always been the seat of knowledge. That's why the ajna chakra is also called gyana chakshu, the third eye.

Dwaraka represents the sahasrara, the crown chakra, on top of the head. Dwaraka literally means: "Where is the door?" Krishna left his body in Dwaraka. Sahasrara also means thousand avenues. It means the pathless path. The path to liberation begins at Haridwar and culminates at Dwaraka.

The soul is called Purusha. Pura means a town. Purusha means one who lives in the town. The Purusha is unbound and infinite. But the Purusha experiences bondage with all the negative emotions.

The microcosm and the macrocosm are interlinked. Planet earth is itself a large organism. It is not just a place for living beings; it is a living organism as a whole. This is what the Gaia theory says. Materialism considers everything as objects. Spirituality, on the other hand, discovers life in everything. So do children. For them, the moon talks, the sun smiles and the mountains hear. Everything comes alive. A street where unethical people conduct their business is believed to emit heavy vibrations whereas as educational institution or a place of worship emits positive and light vibrations. The seven sacred rivers are the Ganga, Yamuna, Saraswati, Godavari, Narmada, Sindhu and Kaveri. Together with the seven sacred cities, they are linked to the seven sacred spots within you.

The seven upper chakras, from lowest to highest, are:

1) muladhara chakra (base of spine): memory, time and space;
2) svadhishthana chakra (below navel): reason;
3) manipura chakra (solar plexus): willpower;
4) anahata chakra (heart center): direct cognition;
5) vishuddha chakra (throat): divine love;
6) ajna chakra (third eye): divine sight;
7) sahasrara chakra (crown of head): illumination, Godliness.

The seven lower chakras, from highest to lowest, are

1) atala chakra (hips): fear and lust;
2) vitala chakra (thighs): raging anger;
3) sutala chakra (knees): retaliatory jealousy;
4) talatala chakra (calves): prolonged mental confusion;
5) rasatala chakra (ankles): selfishness;
6) mahatala chakra (feet): absence of conscience;
7) patala chakra (located in the soles of the feet): murder and malice.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Welcome to the spirituality blog

This blog is an offshoot of a website that I had conceived as a result of the spiritual grace and resultant inspiration during Shivaratri Y2K (http://www.jyotirlinga.com) on the joy of Shiva Bhakti and my quest for spiritual progress. Not finding the time (yep, bad excuse!), this blog suits me fine in quickly adding content... my spiritual forays and thoughts - helps log them too. My spiritual journey started with Hinduism and it's simple stories/ teachings as far back as when I was a 2nd grader, with Lord Shiva and has now found convergence with Advaitism / Duality. The Advaitism gurus like Bhagwan Ramana Maharishi, Nisargadatta Maharaj; they have provided that spiritual boost of energy in many lagging moments and have tremendously influenced me ... little baby steps at a time... that will hopefully all lead upto a final crescendo. The merits of satsangh are many!

Your comments (encouragement/ otherwise) are certainly welcome.Thanks for visiting. If you like it, Subscribe to my blog (click here):Posts (Atom).

Tweeter - shivabhakta

Subscribe RSS

Blog Archive

Slide Video

Meta Tags

Lord Shiva Darshan for Shiva Devotees - Mahadev darshan